Blaine

Gender:
Man 
Age:
64
Location:
Santaquin, Utah, United States
About Me:

Have seven beautiful adult children four boys and three girls.

Teaching Gospel Doctrine class in Sunday school was one of my favorite callings.

Graduated BYU twice, BA in International relations with minor in philosophy. MBA emphasis finance. (Should have studied psychology). Should have requested tuition refund. Graduated single.
Played string bass under the baton of the venerable and frightening Ralph G. Laycock, conductor of BYU's philharmonic orchestra. Also played a little professionally.
Play broad variety of guitar (well beyond the basic "cowboy chords).
Have taught marketing at BYU and basic database concepts at University of Phoenix.

Hoping to write screenplays and/or novels to put across important principles (and supplement income). Have written four screenplays and one novel. The novel demonstrates practical application of key Book of Mormon principles in a challenging anti-religious environment.

Currently working for Oracle Corporation (big database company) doing tech support for database application involved in pharmaceutical research.

Love hiking and exploring mountains close by.

Single life reminds me that I much prefer being with my best friend.

Have also learned through many experiences that forgiveness, love, companionship, support, hard work, unity, are all essential in life’s very challenging journey. At times it hurts like we’d rather die than take another step. Sometimes we’ll have to recognize when God speaks to us through a left-fielder (back in the day I played more softball than I should have), a neighbor, an old friend, a new friend, a scripture, or perhaps a conference talk. He’s talking. We just have to listen. Yes, I believe that, and try to live that way. I also believe that life is a team sport with a minimum of two. That’s why I’m here.

I love the mountains. Have spent many days in the Wasatch range, especially the Nebo loop areas, wandering around observing, absorbing, communing.

I love playing music. Primarily guitar and electric bass. Jazz, rock, blues, country, and classical. Would love to accompany a good singer who wants to create some new acoustic sounds.

LDS singles I'd Like to Meet:

Healthy, comfortable conversation, warmth and sincerity, laughter, sharing understanding of scriptures and how they apply to current context. Ability to trust with tender feelings and challenges.
Smiles. Observing together to share perspectives, be that sunsets, museums, movies, plays, anything to stimulate conversation to reveal internal perspectives, fond memories, hopes and dreams.

Church of Jesus Christ:

Restored Gospel is reaffirmation that Heavenly Father loves us, his Son volunteered to take the stripes we deserve so we could come home. We can be forgiven with only minimal requirements such as obeying commandments and being willing to forgive others. That should be easy once we realize how totally dependent we are on the Savior's grace to even approach the gate at which he stands. He wants us back.
Hard to narrow to a single favorite scripture, but two which illustrate my point above are John 4:7-26 and Luke 15. The first demonstrates His approach to teaching with compassion and tenderness, and the second includes the return of the "prodigal son". This along with the other two stories in Luke 15 demonstrate how the Father celebrates when we come to ourselves and return to him. It's a very tender and telling demonstration of Heavenly Father's desires and lofty intentions for us.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
Mission:
Yes 
Temple Status:
Temple Recommend 
Church Attendance:
Regularly 
Appearance
Body type:
A few extra pounds 
Height:
5' 10" 
Eyes:
Blue 
Hair:
White / gray 
Ethnicity:
Caucasian (white) 
Lifestyle
Social Setting:
Home body, Better in small groups, Comic relief 
TV watching:
Dramas, Movies 
Music:
Blues, Classical, Classic Rock, Country/Western, Jazz, Mormon tabernacle choir, Seventies, Soul/Rhythm and Blues 
Sense of humor:
Clever / Quick witted, Dry / Sarcastic 
Political Views:
Very conservative 
Interests:
Church activities, Church / Community service, Cooking, Family, Gardening, Health / Fitness, Listening to music, Movies, Playing sports, Playing music, Reading, Religion, Visiting the temple, Watching sports 
Home and family
Marital status:
Divorced 
Have kids:
Yes - at home part-time 
Want (more) kids:
No 
Living situation:
With kids 
Looking For:
Marriage 
Professional life
Education:
Master's degree 
Employment status:
Full-time 
Occupation:
Computer related / Hardware