Manassas, Virginia, United States
About Me:

I grew up mostly in Utah, though my family had brief stays in Japan, Finland, Arizona and California. We moved to Virginia when I was 16 and that has pretty much been home base for the rest of my life.

Attended BYU Provo (BA and MA), Penn State (PhD coursework, no dissertation) and George Washington University (second MA) for various degrees. Currently working on another BA through BYU-Idaho.

I work in something of a specialized form of lobbying. Generally, I think it doesn’t much matter what I do professionally, as the whole point of life is to learn how to love people and I could do that digging ditches, or doing public policy and advocacy, so long as I have other people to interact with. I think what I do as an employee is mostly to work on relationships and secondarily to produce a good product or result for my employer. I work from home, which I am extremely happy about, but because I do federal advocacy am tied to the DC area.

I was married in 1992, separated in 2015 and divorced in 2019. I have three children, ages 23, 20 and 15. I thoroughly enjoy them as people and am grateful to be a father. I take my role as a parent very seriously, nevertheless, am cognizant of being limited and in the process of growth myself. I have a joint custody arrangement and my youngest is with me every weekend. Their mom lives just a few minutes away, which makes things a bit easier for us all.

Personality wise, I suppose I tend to be pretty thoughtful and introspective. I like to talk about ideas and my answers to questions are typically rather long than short. I tend to grab onto a topic, do a lot of reading (or listening to podcasts) and really try to educate myself about it. I like learning and growth.

I really like exercise and for several years have ridden a bike and lifted weights 5 times per week. It's pretty important to me for a variety of reasons, and satisfies my personal vanity too, I suppose.

I like music, but only dabble and am not at all an accomplished player of any instrument.

I enjoy woodworking and have a large collection of high-quality power and hand tools that occupy my two-car garage. I can see myself making one piece of furniture after another over the years, mostly to give away to family members. I am though, very slow, as I enjoy the process and don’t mind dragging it out. I’ve also done a lot of home remodeling and get a good deal of satisfaction out of that.

I can say, without question, that the dissolution of my marriage was simultaneously the most excruciating thing I have ever gone through and also the engine of greatest personal growth. How I responded to that experience is the thing I am most proud of in myself. I continue, on a near daily basis, to read and listen to podcasts focused on relationships and marriage.

LDS singles I'd Like to Meet:

I am very much interested in marriage. I have done some dating, including one very long-distance relationship that ended amicably after a couple of years. I guess, at bottom, the desire for marriage is to be truly, deeply known, and loved at the same time, despite my imperfections and weakness. I want to return that to my spouse as well. I don’t say that to mean “live with me as I am” because a part what I really miss from marriage is the pressure – the pressure to grow, to be better, to confront myself. In a good marriage, you can help each other see your blind spots with some compassion for your respective humanity and foibles, but also with some strength and clarity. I want to be able to hear that from my spouse, and also have the strength to bear the discomfort of giving that to her in a gentle way. In the end, I think we have to choose to love freely, without price, without trying to maneuver the other person into giving us what we want. I did somewhat of a poor job of that in my marriage and my part in that dance for sure resulted in pain for myself and my spouse. I want to see that sort of thing more clearly and lay down those less mature ways of interacting for something better. Discovering how to do that with someone else who is equally committed to that process is one of the core reasons I want to be married. It is borderline impossible to have that sort of growth promoting experience as a single person and I miss it.

Plus, life is just more interesting with someone else around to talk, work and play with. I miss the physical connection as well. It’s hard to be without all of that, particularly when my children are gone and it is quiet in my home.

Church of Jesus Christ:

I am fully active in the church and have been all my life. I am not blind to the problems of history or human behavior and like any thoughtful person have had to work through those things. I go to church mainly to feel the touch of God and to be able to love my brothers and sisters and to learn from them. People so often share things that are the real pearls of their lives, often purchased with very great price. I benefit from hearing those things. I am deeply aware of God’s love and kindness and the exquisite tenderness and respect with which He interacts with us.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
Temple Status:
Temple Recommend 
Church Attendance:
Body type:
5' 10" 
A little gray 
Caucasian (white) 
Social Setting:
Better in small groups 
TV watching:
Dramas, Movies 
Blues, Classical, Classic Rock 
Sense of humor:
Friendly, Clever / Quick witted 
Political Views:
Middle of the road 
Church / Community service, Cooking, Family, Health / Fitness, Playing music, Reading, Visiting the temple 
Home and family
Marital status:
Have kids:
Yes - at home part-time 
Want (more) kids:
Not sure 
Living situation:
With kids 
More than $150,000 
Looking For:
Professional life
Master's degree 
Employment status:
Politics / Government / Military