PianoGma

Gender:
Woman 
Age:
56
Location:
Silverton, Oregon, United States
About Me:

I am kind, empathetic, have a good sense of humor, am a BYU-grad, and devoted to living the gospel. I am currently living with my parents. My dad has Parkinson's and my mom is just slowing down and I'm able to help them with the daily challenges of aging. I also use my time to walk briskly for 3 miles most mornings, teach piano lessons two or three afternoons a week, mow the lawn when needed, serve in the temple once a week, and even had some minor success with taking over the vegetable garden for my mom this year (a first for me!).

In my spare time I enjoy playing the piano or organ and singing. (One of my favorite corners of the world is singing at the piano with my kids joining in around me.) I like to read, watch TV, work on diy miniatures, do jigsaw puzzles, and be outside (as long as it's not too warm).

I am an introvert and have a hard time stepping outside my comfort zone, but I find it much easier with a companion.

My former husband was in the Air Force and we spent our 33 years together raising our 6 kids in UT, CA, MD, TX, Japan, and England. I feel those experiences have helped me become an open-minded person with a well-rounded view of the world.

I enjoy road trips, especially to see my kids and grandkids, who are scattered across the States. I would love to return to England someday and visit more of Europe. A Scandinavian Cruise is on my bucket list. In that traveling (and in life in general), I usually prefer scenery and rural sites to busy cities and crowds. I love the ocean but first choice is mountains and tall trees.

LDS singles I'd Like to Meet:

I am looking for a man who is kind, friendly, intelligent, with a good sense of humor, and who is a worthy Priesthood holder. I'm quite old-fashioned and after so many years of doing most of the "adulting" alone, I'm ready for a husband who will listen to me and hear me, counsel with me and take some of the load, with whom I can feel safe and protected; someone who will love me in a way I can feel.

I'd love to have a man who can sing, but that's not a deal breaker. I'd like someone who is willing to serve wherever and whenever he can, who loves to spend time with family, who enjoys quiet evenings at home with occasional nights out for a concert or the theater.

Church of Jesus Christ:

I grew up in a gospel-centered home and tried to raise my children the same way. Although 5 of the 6 were married in the temple (with #6 engaged to be married in the San Antonio Temple in December), the oldest 2 recently chose to leave the church. This broke my heart until I read this from President Eyring:

"My promise to you is one that a member of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles once made to me. I had said to him that because of choices some in our extended family had made, I doubted that we could be together in the world to come. He said, as well as I can remember, “You are worrying about the wrong problem. You just live worthy of the celestial kingdom, and the family arrangements will be more wonderful than you can imagine.” "

That has become my focus in life--to live worthy of the celestial kingdom with continued faith that the family arrangements will be more wonderful than I can now imagine.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
Mission:
In the future 
Temple Status:
Temple Recommend 
Church Attendance:
Regularly 
Appearance
Body type:
Large 
Height:
5' 3" 
Eyes:
Blue 
Hair:
A little gray 
Ethnicity:
Caucasian (white) 
Lifestyle
Social Setting:
Somewhat shy, Home body, Better in small groups 
TV watching:
Dramas, Movies, Sitcoms 
Music:
Classical, Classic Rock, Eighties, Mormon tabernacle choir, Rock n Roll, Seventies, Sixties, Soft Rock 
Sense of humor:
Friendly 
Political Views:
Middle of the road 
Interests:
Church activities, Church / Community service, Cooking, Crafts, Family, Listening to music, Movies, Playing music, Reading, Religion, Theater, Television, Travel, Visiting the temple 
Home and family
Marital status:
Divorced 
Have kids:
Yes - but not at home 
Want (more) kids:
No 
Living situation:
With parents 
Looking For:
Marriage 
Professional life
Education:
College grad 
Employment status:
Self-employed 
Occupation:
Education / Academic research